Getting Certified for a Career as a Cosmetologist

In this article, we review how employers can lookup New Jersey (NJ) state licenses for staff working as a Cosmetologist. Employers must ensure that each of these licensed workers are up to date with their licenses and follow the necessary regulations that are put forth by the State of New Jersey. This can be risky as even a minor violation could result in penalties for the employers or individual workers. Employers also need to be aware of any changes in the regulations brought about by the state board, and should work to keep their workers informed.

Cosmetology is a rewarding career choice for those who are passionate about hair, skin, beauty, and fashion. Those who are interested in pursuing a career in cosmetology must complete a certification program in order to work professionally.

Certification requirements vary by state, country and even by specific city. Most cosmetology programs require anywhere from 600 hours to more than 1,600 hours of training. Depending on the location, applicants must be at least sixteen years old to enroll in cosmetology education programs, though some states may require applicants to be of a certain age when they take the state certification exam.

A cosmetology license will provide the skills and expertise to work in a variety of settings. These can include hair salons, day spas, beauty supply stores, and many more. To become a licensed cosmetologist, aspiring cosmetologists must successfully complete courses in hair cutting, hair coloring, perms, manicures, pedicures, waxing, facial treatments, anatomy, retail and customer service, and other state-mandated courses.

Most cosmetology programs require applicants to have a high school diploma or GED in order to enroll. A cosmetology program may also require applicants to take a pre-enrollment course or test before being accepted.

Upon completion of the program, applicants must then pass the state-mandated exam. The exam may include a written test and/or a practical exam. After passing the exam, a cosmetologist will then be allowed to apply for a license. A license must be renewed every two to four years in order to maintain a current certification.

In some locations, officers may also want to pursue a master licensure, which may require additional hours of training and the completion of additional courses. Master licentures may allow cosmetologists to specialize in certain fields, such as makeup application, massage therapy, laser treatments, and more.

High school students who are interested in pursuing a career in cosmetology may be able to complete some of the requirements for certification prior to enrolling in a cosmetology program. Many high schools have programs in place where students can receive credits from a cosmetology program before they even start taking classes. This is a great way to get a head start in the certification process.

In order to ensure that a cosmetologist is working in accordance with the standards of the state they are practicing in, they must hold a valid professional occupational certificate. Getting certified as a cosmetologist can be a long journey, but the resulting satisfaction, financial rewards, and career opportunities are worth it.

How to Lookup Licenses & Manage Certification with Software for a Cosmetologist

Looking up and managing occupational licenses for cosmetologists can be a straightforward process if a few steps are followed.

Contact one’s State Board of Cosmetology to obtain full list of requirements. Regulatory oversight of cosmetologists usually occurs at the state level and so will the information on licensing requirements.

Gather relevant documents- applications, transcripts, letters of reference and proof of continuing education credits- according to the state requirements. To ensure process moves as quickly as possible, applicants should compile these documents prior to applying for license; some states may also require applicants to provide passport-style photographs.

Pay licensing fees as stated in the board’s requirements. Fees may vary anywhere from $50-$250 per license. Submit all required forms to the board either by mail or in person. Depending upon state, there may be waiting periods for licensing approval.

Once approved, license will be granted. Licensees should check regularly for any changes that may affect the status of their license; renewal notifications are often sent out prior to the expiration of license.

Maintain required hours of continuous education to keep license valid. Hours often vary between 8-20 hours per licensing period. You may be able to satisfy continuing education requirements through attendance at workshops or classes offered by approved institutions.

Following these few steps can help cosmetologists transition seamlessly through the licensing process. In order to keep license active, cosmetologists must remain proactive in keeping track of hours required for renewal and any other applicable changes.